

The selection and announcement of the winners of any contest is an event that stirs much excitement and anticipation. For the organizers of the APO Photo Contest 2002, it was no exception. They had seen the entries and had their own personal favorites. The question in everyone's mind was: Who will be the lucky winners? On top of the 19 prizes announced in the contest posters and flyers, the APO added five merit prizes. The panel of six judges, including the APO Secretary-General, met on 16 October in the APO Secretariat to select the 24 prizewinners.

This year's Gold Prize goes to Vietnam, which also won last year's Gold Prize. For two years running, Vietnam submitted the most entries with 330 and

And the winners are...

525 in 2001 and 2002, respectively. It also won the most number of prizes in these two years. This attests to the high standard of photography among the shutterbugs in Vietnam. We are also aware that the Vietnam Productivity Center has taken great pains to promote and publicize the photo contest. We would like to express our grateful thanks to them and to the other NPOs for their generous and active support, and our heartiest congratulations to the winners.

Panel of Judges

H.E. Mr. Touqir Hussain, Pakistan Ambassador to Japan H.E. Mr. Domingo L. Siazon, Jr., Philippine Ambassador to Japan Ms. Sanae Numata, Professional Photographer Mr. Hideki Tomizawa, Managing Director, Nihon Keizai Shimbun, Inc. Mr. Shigeru Chatani, Director, The Photographic Society of Japan Mr. Takashi Tajima, Secretary-General, Asian Productivity Organization

Lai Dien Dam (Vietnam) US\$1,000 & Camera) Le Hoai Phuong (Vietnam)

Silver Prize (Certificate, Nisar A. Mirza (Pakistan) US\$750 & Camera) Hii Yii Kuong (Malaysia)

Leah M. Castillo (Philippines)

Aasim Hameed (Pakistan) **Bronze Prize** (Certificate, Trancao Bao Long (Vietnam) US\$500 & Camera) Vu Anh Tuan (Vietnam)

Nguyen Luong Hieu (Vietnam)

Taweesak Toloetmongkol (Thailand)

S.M. Wahid Hussain Naqvi (Pakistan)

Ta Quang Bao (Vietnam)

Dao Hoa Nu (Vietnam)

Special Prize (Certificate & Camera)

Gold Prize

(Certificate,

Ha Huu Duc (Vietnam)

Huynh Thanh Binh (Vietnam)

Vu Anh Hieu (Vietnam)

Akkaradej Wimsikkamol (Thailand)

Pang Piow Kan (Malaysia)

Panida Wangniwiatkul (Thailand)

Kazi Akhtaruzzaman (Bangladesh)

Merit Prize

(Certificate & US\$50)

Ts. Dejidmaa (Mongolia) Premalal Ranawila (Sri Lanka)

Tan Soon Keng (Singapore)

Dilip Lokre (India)



Judging in progress. (L-R) Ms. Numata, Mr. Tajima, Mr. Hussain, Mr. Tomizawa, Mr. Siazon, and Mr. Chatani