## APO honors 2015 Asia-Pacific productivity champions

PO Secretary-General Mari Amano announced that one regional and four national winners had been selected by the APO's Governing Body to receive the APO Regional and National Awards 2015. The APO Awards are only conferred every five years. Individuals who have contributed significantly to advancing the productivity movement in the Asia-Pacific region are eligible for the Regional Awards, and those in a specific member economy of the APO are eligible for the National Awards.

The APO Regional Award 2015 will be conferred on Jong-Chin Shen, Republic of China, at the 57th Session of the APO Governing Body in Bangkok on 27 April 2015. The four recipients of the 2015 APO National Awards are Dr. Ming-Ji Wu, Republic of China; Boo-Keun Yoon, Republic of Korea; Natsagnyam Namkhai, Mongolia; and Dr. Ajva Taulananda, Thailand. These national awardees will be honored by their governments in ceremonies arranged by their NPOs. A gold-plated medal in a display frame and certificate will be given to all award recipients.

This is only the ninth conferring of the APO Awards since their inception in 1979. Including the 2015 awardees, 76 individuals, 19 of whom were regional awardees, have been honored so far. Their contributions to the national and regional productivity movements have had major impacts by helping



to improve the quality of life throughout the Asia-Pacific. The APO hopes that the 2015 awardees will continue their work for higher productivity and that others will follow in their footsteps. (2)